And so the Adventure Begins…

IMG_2648

Welcome to España!

After a long 17 hours of traveling, I have finally arrived to my final destination: Barcelona! During my trip, I ventured from Southern California to snowy Minneapolis, Minnesota, followed by a long trek to Paris, France, finally finished in Barcelona, Spain.

I was greeted at the gate by one of the most amazing, warm families I have ever met. I am fortunate to have two new Spanish siblings, Pau and Olivia, and an amazing set of parents, Sofía and Cesar. They live in a beautiful home located in the Bohemian, laid back, local neighborhood of the city, Gracía.

My first weekend I was able to settle in, relax, and spend quality time getting to know my new Spanish family. I explored the narrow streets of Gracía, tried a couple of new yoga studios, and wandered down one of the more famous streets here in Barcelona, Passeig de Gracía. It’s just barely sinking in that this is my new home, an unfamiliar city to explore and create lifelong memories in.

In just a few days I will be meeting hundreds of new faces in my study abroad program and discovering more about myself than I am prepared for. It’s time to embrace this new, amazing experience and opportunity that awaits for me!

Besos,

Madeline Alice Johnson

Side Note: This blog post is originally from January 8, 2016 – January 12, 2016

One thought on “And so the Adventure Begins…

Leave a Reply

